PR Publications

PR WEEK

I would class PR Week as the ‘go to’ magazine for PR people. It is the main periodical that comes to mind when I think of trade media within PR. It was one of the magazines I was actually encouraged to read throughout my Masters.

The magazine tailors its content to create a regional narrative perspective in global issues. The magazine also addresses concerns within the industry and keeps industry professionals involved and informed on aspects of the industry which are of relevance. In an industry which concerns itself with reputation, it is ironic when the sector itself gets negative backlash. I feel that PR Week in the nature of its content aims to educate people to better understand PR and the world of communications.

Not only does the magazine include editorial and opinion pieces, but it is also involved in research. This leads me to think that the magazine will appeal to academics as well as practitioners. During my Masters I used PR Week as a source which was very beneficial in providing different perspectives, analysis and information for successful campaigns that I used for my own academic essays.

I have noticed that with PR Week there is a level of prestige attached to the publication. It endorses knowledge, opinion from industry professionals and global news which affect the PR Industry. One story which I was drawn to was how Finsbury (sponsoring company of the TBF) was hired by Volkswagen to deal with the emissions crisis.

PR Week also actively praises and recognises the achievements of organisations in the sector at its PR Week Global Awards. On my visits to the Unity and Battenhall Creative PR agencies, I realised how the awards were used to develop their profile within the sector and showed off their ability to meet industry expectations.

PR MOMENT

 

PR Moment is exactly what it says. It captures moments within the PR industry that need to be addressed or even praised and they also provide rewards to honour members of the industry. Its tag line, “Exploring the evolution of PR”, highlights how it recognises the rapid growth of the industry and adapts to the evolving landscape. Having said this, the magazine endorses and actively encourages inspiring ideas. Like PR Week, it also provides a platform to post PR research from an academic perspective to develop more theoretical knowledge on issues which affect the industry.

This magazine has been constructed to be fun, happy and bubbly. Its content is snappy which is perfect to be read “on the go” and fits the schedule of PR professionals. I view this publication as being easily accessible to anyone interested in PR. You could have a limited understanding of PR or be an experienced professional. I would happily be drawn to read this online publication, particularly the “good & bad PR” section as it will help me gather good tips for my professional development.

GORKANA

With Gorkana, I perceive it as a serious and business related platform used by financial and corporate firms. It is marketed as a powerful database with a wealth of contacts, which adapts to the rapidly evolving media arena. There is a lot of data, strategies and analytics involved which will develop people’s networking, campaigns and reputations within PR. I think that Gorkana will be used more by experienced members of the industry who will be able to effectively use its services. At my visit to Battenhall, Anton Perreau (Senior Account Manager) mentioned Gorkana and how it was a very expensive platform used by them to gather information and details on journalists. It seems like an easy task having all this data at the click of a button! However at this stage I feel that using the Gorkana site without the support or guidance would be overwhelming for someone like me at the initial stages of my career.

THE HOLMES REPORT

There is prestige attached to the Holmes Report. Having looked at the website I realised that they had a comprehensive and sophisticated approach to the way it educated and distributed knowledge about the PR industry. The fact that it is called a “report” and not a magazine instantly demands status and seriousness. Whilst researching firms on the Taylor Bennett Foundation, I recognised how Finsbury, for example, published a lot of content of the Holmes Report which I feel upheld its own corporate image of being a serious, financial corporate agency.

CORPORATE COMMS MAGAZINE

The terms ‘Public Relations’ and ‘corporate communications’ are interchangeable because they essentially mean the same thing. However people within the industry will associate themselves with one or the other. The Corporate communications magazine is a monthly in-house magazine which promotes itself as, “The magazine for the corporate communicator”.

Personally, I see it as being a very serious, corporate, big business magazine loaded within heavy content which will only be recognised by people in the trade. Surprisingly however it portrays itself as a magazine which encourages lively and engaging content. The corporate communications magazine involves insight into the industry, expert opinions and analysis of development within the PR world.

In my opinion I would personally go for PR Week as I find it more accessible for someone on my level. In terms of the readership for the corporate comms magazine Members of the financial sector are more likely to actively read this magazine as opposed to those working within the creative industry. That is purely based on the fact that they promote themselves as a “corporate communications” magazine and thus embody a more serious tone. What is interesting to see is how this magazine also involves advertising and marketing disciplines within its content in addition to corporate communications.

Leave a Reply

